Current Maine Legislature

The 131st Maine Legislature has adjourned effective May 14, 2024. The 132nd Maine legislature will begin in 2025.

The Maine Legislature convenes at the State House in Augusta, where it has met since 1832.

The House of Representatives consists of 154 members, each chosen from single-member constituencies. The House is one of the few state legislative bodies in the U.S. to set aside special seats for Native Americans, where there are three nonvoting Representatives from the Penobscot Nation, the Passamaquoddy Tribe, and the Houlton Band of Maliseets. The Senate includes a varying number of members, which may under the Maine Constitution be 31, 33, or 35; the present number is 35.

Learn more about the Steps of the Legislative Path in Maine  and how Maine Laws come to be.